The Democratic Republic of the Congo has extended a mining ban in three provinces that are rich in tin, gold, tungsten and coltan.

Mining operations were banned in the North Kivu, South Kivu and Maniema provinces on 9 September to help government take control of the trade from the illegal mining groups.

Mines Minister Martin Kabwelulu said the suspension will continue for at least two weeks, while the Congolese army stabilises the area around Bisie, the biggest tin-ore mine in North Kivu.

Bisie accounts for 80% of the province’s tin ore production, reports Bloomberg.