The Democratic Republic of Congo will continue a mining ban in three provinces in a bid to curb the income of rebels from minerals.

Mines Minister Martin Kabwelulu said a mining suspension in three eastern provinces will be upheld until further notice.

The mining ban, which was announced by President Joseph Kabila on 11 September, put a suspension of operations in mines in North and South Kivu provinces and Maniema, which are rich in tin, gold, wolfram and columbo-tantalum.

The country seeks to prevent various rebel groups using revenue from minerals and other natural resources in the provinces to fund their activities, reports Bloomberg.