The Government of Northwest Territories (NWT) in Canada, the Northern Safety Association and three diamond mining companies in NWT will together develop new common standards for mine safety training.

BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto and De Beers Canada will provide residents in NWT with training in mine safety to improve their employment opportunities.

Minister of Education, Culture and Employment Jackson Lafferty said the government’s main concern was to improve training opportunities to develop healthy, educated residents.

The Government of NWT and the three diamond mines signed a memorandum of understanding in 2008 to team up on the NWT Mining Workforce Initiative, which develops programmes to help NWT residents acquire education and skills to work at the diamond mines.